Sad Love Songs, Happy Shows

Hey friends –

Someone told me that April is almost over.  I could’ve sworn we were still somewhere in February…

Lots going on over here on my end.  I ended up taking a job in West LA that will hopefully help fund a fun recording project.  The bad news is that jobs take up a great deal of my time and I don’t even get to think about pianos more than once a week.  The good news is that a recording project could be on the horizon!  Makes all the late nights and long commutes worth it (usually….)

But when I’m not at work, I goof off every now and again with other musician friends to remind myself of what keeps me ticking.  Recently, my friend Jourdan got to interview the band, Cake, for her hot little green blog.  Since I occasionally cover one of their quintessentially awesome songs (“Never There” in case you’re having a hard time deciding which one fits that description…), she agreed to send it along to them with a package of tshirts they ordered from her.  I called my friend, David, to see if he could take an hour or two to record the track at his super sweet studio.  One take and lots of fun times later, here’s what we came up with:

Oh, sad love songs….

If that left you a bit weepy, here’s some good news to cheer you up – MORE SHOWS!  I had to swear them off for awhile while I worked 70 hour work weeks; but I’m giving a few more a shot out west before heading back to the great wide midwest.  Here’s all the info (and a fancy poster!):

THURSDAY 4/28/11 @8pm

Pop Champagne & Dessert Bar
33 East Union Street
Pasadena, CA 91103
All Ages – NO COVER
Call (626) 795-1295 for dinner reservations and say who you’ll be there to see (me!)

THURSDAY 5/5/11 @8pm

The Terrace
443 E. Colorado Blvd.
Pasadena, CA,
21+ – $12 tickets available online here: http://jessicaripkasuh.eventbrite.com/
(or email me and I’ll mail you a hard copy

SATURDAY 5/28/11 @9pm

Park Bar (for a show AND my birthday.  Come with a party hat!)
2007 West Burbank Boulevard
Burbank, CA 91506-1318
21+ – $5

So there you have it, friends!  Til next time, enjoy your spring (very soon to be summer….)

xoxo,

jess

Leave a Reply

